Weekend Reading

I’m off to work this morning, so no food from me today, but here are some interesting articles and blog posts, plus a delicious recipe.

This is a great blog post about junk food in a vegan diet.

Have you heard about VegNews? What do you think about this?

I made these pancakes for breakfast a couple days ago. They were amazingly flavorful, fluffy, cake-like. I can’t say enough about them. Instead of 100% all-purpose flour, I used 1/2 c. all purpose, 1/2 c. whole grain spelt, and 1/4 c. oat flour.

Finally, an interesting article called Is Sugar Toxic?.

What are you reading this weekend?

Greg is off to his last comprehensive exam today. Send him good vibes!

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekend Reading

  1. Greg says:

    I read someone else’s comment about the VegNews issue, which I agreed with. If they’re saving money using stock photos, and putting it to better use elsewhere, I don’t have much of a problem with it.

    • alimental says:

      I see what you mean, but I think the real problem is that it compromises the integrity of the whole publication. Using stock photos of actual meat is misleading to readers, and VegNews would have continued to use these images if they hadn’t been found out. I guess I’m not personally offended, but I certainly have no interest in subscribing to VegNews.

      On the other hand, I think people are being over the top when they say things like “I thought the food in those pictures looked delicious, and now I feel like I’ve craved animals”. Obviously, a lot of the recipes in VegNews are trying to imitate meat and other animal foods (which is why they were able to use the stock photos). So, if you’re craving vegan replicas of animal foods, isn’t that kind of the same as craving animal foods anyway?

Leave a Reply

