Super Healthy Banana Cookies

Yesterday, I was dying to bake something. I also had two hideously ripe bananas, so I actually had to bake something. The only problem is that every time I bake, I eat FAR too many baked goods. So, I decided to make some super healthy cookies. My recipe is based on the Banana Maple Oatmeal Cookies from fatfreevegan.com, though I did make a number of changes.

By the way, fatfreevegan.com is most likely my favorite blog of all time, so if you haven’t checked it out, it’s worth a visit!

Super Healthy Banana Cookies

  • 2 extra ripe bananas (mine were almost black), mashed
  • 2 tsp ground chia seeds + 4 tbsp water
  • 2 cups oats
  • 2 cups whole spelt flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 c agave nectar
  • 1/2 c unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 tsp lemon or lime juice
  • 1/2 c raisins, optional (I didn’t have any, but they would have been lovely)
Combine ground chia seeds and water in a small bowl. Set aside for at least 5 minutes.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. In a mixing bowl, combine oats, flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, and cinnamon. In a separate bowl, combine all wet ingredients. Stir in chia seed/water mixture. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix well.

Spray a cooking sheet with non-stick spray (or use parchment paper). Bake for 10-12 minutes.

I still ate way too many cookies, but at least they had pretty awesome ingredients.

For dinner, I had stir fry on the brain. I watched this video from Black Metal Vegan Chef, and while I was not about to make any sauce with that much sugar in it, it did make me hungry for some Asian-esque food.

This was just the thing. Udon noodles, baked tofu, edamame, broccoli, carrots, bean sprouts, green bell pepper, and an entire bunch of cilantro. I’m convinced that the secret to an amazing stir fry is the perfect veg to noodle ratio (lots more vegetables than noodles), and a whole lot of cilantro.

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dinner. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

