Hello/Wild Rice and Almond Pilaf

Hello, and welcome to Alimental. I’m Hannah, and soon you’ll probably be able to find out some super interesting things in the About section of the site.

In short:

  • I live in Milwaukee
  • I have a B.S. in Biological Sciences
  • I’m married to my best friend Greg
  • I have two weird cats called Sid and Puck
  • My diet is primarily plant-based
  • I really love food.

A bit on that last point. When I say I love food, it extends far beyond eating (although eating is definitely included). You see, I think food is really interesting. I love experimenting in the kitchen and learning about all aspects of food.

In particular, I love the science of food. I love the botany involved in growing food, the chemistry involved in cooking, and most of all, the biology involved in nutrition and metabolism.

I also love the process of preparing and eating food. There are few things that I find more wonderful than going out to choose my ingredients, interacting with those ingredients as I prepare them, and sharing the product.

With that, on to the food.

The following is a recipe that I have modified a bit from a cookbook called The Northwest Vegetarian Cookbook (which is a very good cookbook).

Wild Rice and Almond Pilaf

  • 1/2 cup fresh parsley
  • 1 medium onion
  • 2 stalks celery
  • 2-3 carrots
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • 1 cup wild rice
  • 2 cups vegetable broth (or water)
  • 1/2 tsp marjoram
  • 1 tsp herbes de provence
  • 1/4 tsp rosemary
  • some red pepper flakes and black pepper
  • 1/2 cup almonds, chopped

Rinse the rice. Boil the vegetable broth with the marjoram, herbes de provence, rosemary, black pepper, and red pepper flakes. Add the rice and stir. Turn the heat down and cover. Cook the rice for about 40 minutes (in my experience).

Heat the olive oil in a pan and add the onions and garlic. After a minute or two, add the carrots and celery. Cook until soft.

Combine the cooked wild rice and vegetables in a large bowl. Add the chopped almonds and fresh parsley. You may need to add some salt, especially if you use water instead of vegetable broth.

Have fun!

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Lunch and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

