Kale Chips

I love finding sneaky ways to feed myself vegetables that I’m not crazy about, and let me tell you, kale chips really take the cake in this category.

Greg and I went to my parents’ house on labor day, and any trip to my parents house means that we will return with food. This time, we brought home a huge beautiful bag of kale from my mom’s garden.

I’ve known about kale chips for a while, but I’ve always been a bit of a skeptic. I figured now was the time to give it a go. The recipe is really simple. All you need is:

  • Kale
  • Olive oil or  olive oil cooking spray
  • Salt and/or garlic (I used both)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees fahrenheit. Cut the kale off the stem and tear it into bite sized pieces. Place the pieces onto a baking sheet, and don’t let any pieces overlap. This allows the kale to become crispy.

Spray the kale lightly with olive oil, add salt and/or garlic, and bake for about 4 minutes. Remove from the oven and let them sit for a minute.

Now, there’s really no way for me to make the finished product look like anything other than a pile of slightly darker looking kale. However, I can show you other proof of their deliciousness.

This is my husband Greg. He is a man who would probably have no problem living on frozen pizza and ramen, and I think he actually groaned when I told him I was making kale chips. However, he is usually willing to try anything that I make.

The verdict:

So there you have it.

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Sides, Snacks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Kale Chips

  1. zach says:

    I love kale chips!!!! I’ve made them with dry ranch dressing, cayenne pepper, and nutritional yeast, and they are better than potato chips. You may also try adding Curry powder to a batch. I love your blog! Nice job with the photos.
    Zach

  2. Rebecca Surges says:

    Greg’s a dork. haha! I want to try these.

  3. Carol S. says:

    Whoa. I gotta try those. I want to run right to the grocery story, or nearest garden center …. does decorative kale work too? …. and buy a big bagful.

Leave a Reply

