Corn Salsa/Dealing With Leftovers

Leftovers are one of my least favorite things. It’s so disappointing to have to finish food from the day before instead of making something new (I’m spoiled, I know). So, in order to deal with leftovers, I just try to liven them up a little and remind myself that the sooner I eat them, the sooner I can make something new.

Today, I had a lot of TVP taco leftovers to get out of my sight. Don’t get me wrong. I love TVP tacos. I just don’t like leftover TVP tacos. I also had some vegetables that were on their way out, so I threw them all together into quite a lovely lunch.

Corn Salsa

  • 3 ears of corn
  • 1/4 of a medium onion
  • 1 large tomato
  • 1 avocado
  • 1 large jalapeno
  • juice from 1 lime
  • 1/3 cup cilantro

Boil the corn for about 8 minutes. I was in a hurry, so I ran cold water over the ears to cool them quickly. Cut the kernels off of the ears and break them apart with your fingers or a knife.

The rest is easy. Just throw all of the vegetables into a bowl, stir it up, squeeze the lime juice over it, and add salt and pepper to taste.

Served with the leftover TVP on an Ezekiel tortilla.

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Lunch and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Corn Salsa/Dealing With Leftovers

  1. Greg says:

    The posts look nice with the larger images. I like your blog! I love you!

Leave a Reply

