Overnight Oats

If you have never made overnight oats, you are in for a life changing experience.

This is one of the easiest, healthiest, and most fun breakfasts there is. Sometimes I actually feel my heart sink when I wake up and realize that I didn’t prepare any the night before. It’s just that good. It also keeps me full for a long time, which is quite an amazing feat.

Overnight Oats

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1 Tbs chia seeds
  • 1/2 cup yogurt
  • 1/4 cup soy milk
  • dash of cinnamon

That’s the mixture that I let sit in the fridge overnight. I prefer my oats to be on the thick side, so you can play with the amounts of yogurt and soy milk that you add to get the consistency that you want.

In the morning, the fun happens. Top the oats with anything that sounds like it would be good. I usually add some kind of fresh fruit, a sprinkle of granola, and about a tablespoon of some kind of nut or seed butter. If you want a little extra sweetness, all you need is a little drizzle of honey and/or about a tablespoon of raisins.

For example:

Overnight oats topped with coconut cashew granola, fresh raspberries, half a banana, a dollop of sunflower seed butter, and an extra sprinkle of chia seeds.

Yum.

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Overnight Oats

  1. Greg says:

    I think this is your best post yet. You should post more of your breakfast ideas.

  2. Rebecca Surges says:

    I want to eat this right now. RIGHT NOW! It looks delicious and your camera takes really nice pictures! I’m going to have to attempt to make this!

  3. Carol S. says:

    Okay, now I get it! Overnight oats! What’s that old rule about reading the whole thing before starting. That’s what I should have done before my first post.

  4. brethart77 says:

    Where might I get chia seeds?

Leave a Reply

