Lazy Chili

In a perfect world, I would have unlimited time to spend in the kitchen making everything from scratch. I would also have unlimited money, and all of my ingredients would be the freshest and highest quality ingredients in existence. Unfortunately, this is not a perfect world, and sometimes it’s necessary to make a healthy meal quickly, easily, cheaply, and in large batches so that you can freeze some for later.

Another reality is that sometimes, I just don’t feel like slaving over the stove all day. I just want to throw some stuff into a pot and walk away.

This is where chili comes in. Please prepare yourselves for a very non-gourmet recipe. I promise though, it’s damn good.

Lazy Chili

  • 1 medium onion
  • 1 green bell pepper
  • 3 serrano peppers, seeds removed
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 2 Tbs olive oil
  • 1 15 oz can of black beans (no salt added)
  • 1 15 oz can of kidney beans (no salt added)
  • 1 28 oz can of diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 of a 6 oz can of tomato paste
  • 2 cups of vegetable broth
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 2 tsp crushed red peppers
  • 1/4 cup Penzeys Taco Seasoning
  • Salt and pepper as needed
  • 1/2 cup TVP + 1/2 cup water (optional)

Chop the onions and peppers. Heat the olive oil in a large pot and cook the vegetables over medium heat until the onions are translucent (about 8 minutes for me). Drain and rinse the beans and add them to the vegetables, followed by the vegetable broth, Penzeys Taco Seasoning, cumin, and crushed red peppers. Finally, add the diced tomatoes and tomato paste. I skipped the TVP, but if you’re going to add it, now is the time. Simmer for about 90 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Note: this is some pretty spicy chili. If you’re not into spicy food, skip some of the serrano peppers and the crushed red pepper flakes.

If  you’re a little crazy and think it’s not spicy enough, leave the seeds in the serranos, and I wish you the best of luck.

Of course, what goes better with chili on a fall evening than cornbread? I’ve never actually made cornbread, so this recipe is the result of comparing a lot of different recipes and deciding what I thought seemed like it would work. I’ll put the recipe here in case you’re as clueless as I was (am) about this particular food, but if you already have a good recipe, just stick with that 🙂

Cornbread

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 2 Tbs agave nectar
  • 1 cup soy milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup Earth Balance

Preheat oven to 425 degrees fahrenheit. Combine flour, cornmeal, salt, and baking powder in a bowl. Mix the Earth Balance into the dry ingredients by breaking it up with a fork. Add the soy milk, eggs, and agave nectar and stir for about a minute. Bake in a greased pan for 18-20 minutes.


About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Lunch, Soups and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lazy Chili

  1. steph says:

    Looks Great. Very nice presentation. I’m impressed! 🙂

  2. Carol S. says:

    That’s funny that you used Penzey’s Taco Seasoning in your chili. I just made chili this week and did the same thing. Hmmmm, I wonder why. Stephanie, are you out there reading this perhaps?

  3. le7 says:

    Looks delicious. I saw in a later post, that you’re trying to budget and plan your grocery list ahead of time.

    One thing that really really helps me is: buying dried beans instead of cans. Before cooking you don’t even need to soak them usually (especially in a recipe like this chili).

Leave a Reply

