Birthday Apple Crumble

Yesterday was my sister Emily’s 19th birthday. We spent the morning at a local farmers market, and then brought our ingredients home to do some birthday baking. Our dessert ingredients were apples and peaches, but I also purchased some cucumbers, bell peppers, garlic, bok choy, ground cherries, and broccoli.

My mom arranged a beautiful fall bouquet with plants that she bought at the market.

Unfortunately, when I tried to turn my camera on at the market, I got a nasty little message saying “battery exhausted”. So I don’t have any pictures from that part of the day, but I recharged the battery as soon as we returned home, so the entire baking process is well documented.

I don’t have the peach pie recipe, since my sister did all of the ingredient combining for that dessert. She makes a mean pie crust, so maybe I can get her to share her secrets in a later post.

Also, once more, you will have to forgive my measurements for the apple crumble recipe. Most of the time, my cooking and baking is completely improvised and I don’t do a whole lot of measuring. I will try harder in the future. However, this is not a precise recipe, so it’s a perfect opportunity to try your hand at a little intuitive baking!

Apple Crumble

For the apples:

  • Approximately 2.5 pounds of apples, cored and sliced
  • A generous sprinkle of cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 3 Tbs water
  • ~3 Tbs flour

Slice the apples. I leave the skin on because I like the texture, and it’s also a lot easier. Place them in a 9 by 13 inch pan. Sprinkle cinnamon, flour, water, and sugar over the apples and mix it up. if it seems dry, add a little more water.

For the crumble:

  • 1 and 1/4 cups oats
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar (white or brown)
  • 1/2 cup butter or margarine
  • Cinnamon

Mix the oats, flour, sugar, and cinnamon. Incorporate the butter/margarine with a fork until the mixture looks crumbly.

Pour the crumble over the apples and spread evenly over the surface. Bake at 350 degrees fahrenheit for 30 minutes. Serve warm and with vanilla ice cream if desired.

This pan of apple crumble was devoured before I could snap a photo of the finished product.

Here’s a picture of my sister with her (floating?) peach pie. Hopefully, there is a peach pie recipe coming soon to this blog.

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

