Sweet Potato and Black Bean Enchiladas

So, is it fall? Where’s that cool weather I keep talking about while making so many warm, hearty foods? Why is the high 85 degrees on a late September day in Wisconsin?

I’m a little confused, but I still plan to continue with my autumn inspired cooking. Of course, this would be a lot easier if pumpkin puree was anywhere to be found, but I’m hopeful that things will turn around in the near future.

Anyway, I’ve seen a few versions of this recipe on food blogs and on the Whole Foods website, and I was dying to try making my own.

Sweet Potato and Black Bean Enchiladas

  • 1 medium sweet potato
  • 1 15oz can of black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 poblano pepper, sliced
  • 3 serrano peppers, diced
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • juice of one lime
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 poblano pepper
  • 4 oz shredded monterey jack cheese
  • 6-8 tortillas (I used flour)
  • 1 package Frontera Skillet Taco Sauce (I used the key lime cilantro flavor)

Bake the sweet potato at 350 degrees fahrenheit for 40 minutes. Remove the skin and dice. Heat the olive oil in a pan and sauté the sliced poblano pepper for about 3 minutes. Mix all of the vegetables and beans together and add the spices and lime juice.

Cover the bottom of a casserole dish with a thin layer of sauce. Fill and roll the tortillas and place them in the pan. Pour the remaining sauce over the filled tortillas and add the shredded cheese. Bake at 350 degrees fahrenheit for 30 minutes.

I ended up with 6 enchiladas, because that’s all I could fit in my casserole dish, but I had some filling left over.

Here’s the finished product. I served it with butternut squash.

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sweet Potato and Black Bean Enchiladas

  1. steph says:

    Hannah!
    This is so Beautiful!! I’m so impressed!! 🙂 I have to make this. 🙂 I love you XO

Leave a Reply

