Cowboy Cookies

Happy Friday!

Everyone needs a treat now and then, so I’m thinking of making Friday my official baking/dessert day.

Oddly, I have never made cowboy cookies before, although they are probably my second favorite (after oatmeal raisin, of course). I have also not attempted a non-vegan cookie in at least 5 years. Let me tell you, normal baking is way harder than vegan baking.

Two things that I learned in the process:

  1. I have very limited egg cracking ability.
  2. It is really lame that you can’t eat cookie dough that has raw eggs in it.

Seriously? I’m supposed to look at this amazing stuff and not eat ANY?

On the bright side, I didn’t eat all of the cookie dough before I had a chance to bake it (like I normally do), so I will actually have cookies to show you when all is said and done.

Cowboy Cookies

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 cup unsalted butter
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups oats
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened coconut flakes
  • 3/4 cup chocolate chips
  • 3/4 cup chopped pecans
  • cooking spray

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit. Combine flour, salt, baking powder, and baking soda in a bowl. Mix well. In a separate bowl, combine the softened butter and the granulated and brown sugars. mix until smooth and fluffy. Add the eggs and vanilla. Gradually add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients. Mix in the oats, coconut, chocolate chips, and pecans.

Spray a baking pan and use a tablespoon to drop the cookie dough onto the pan. Bake for 13-15 minutes. Leave the cookies on the pan for about 5 minutes after removing from the oven, and then transfer them to a cooling rack.

Looks like tomorrow is going to be a great day for a farmers’ market expedition!

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert, Snacks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cowboy Cookies

  1. eva626 says:

    i like ur glass!!! its so cool…whered u get it?

  2. Sarah says:

    Hi Hannah! I stumbled here from the front page of WordPress like many other people, but I’m definitely sticking around. These Cowboy Cookies look delicious — I’ve been hunting for a simple, easy recipe — so I can’t wait to try them out.

    Looking forward to adding you to my reader and getting to know you better!

Leave a Reply

