More Cookies!

I spent last night in Chicago with Greg seeing Roger Waters perform The Wall. It was a really late night, but I was still up fairly bright and early and ready to get over to the farmers’ market at Cathedral Square. I was alone and on foot today, so I had to take it easy in order to ensure that I would be able to carry everything home. Unfortunately, this meant passing up a gigantic watermelon that I very much wanted to devour (alone, in one sitting). I did end up buying 3 pounds of cortland apples, a pound of pears, and a pound of peaches. So it was still a lovely trip.

I also remembered this morning that I have a birthday party to attend! My youngest cousin turned 16 this week (holy cow), and my family is getting together this afternoon to celebrate. Since I didn’t have time to go shopping for a gift, I decided I’d hit the kitchen for some more cookie baking. And anyway, is there really a more wonderful birthday present than homemade cookies?

I decided to go with oatmeal raisin, because they are the most exquisite of any cookie. The recipe I use is just the good old Quaker recipe. I am pretty much an oatmeal raisin cookie connoisseur, and it really is the best recipe that I’ve tried.

Oatmeal Cookies

  • 1/2 cup + 6 Tbs of unsalted butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 3 cups oats
  • 1 cup raisins

Preheat oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit. Combine the softened butter, brown sugar, granulated sugar, vanilla, and eggs. In a separate bowl, combine the flour, salt, baking soda, and cinnamon. Gradually add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients. Stir in oats and raisins.

Use a tablespoon to drop the dough onto an ungreased cookie sheet. I like to press mine down a little, since oatmeal cookies don’t spread out as much as other cookies. The recipe on the Quaker website says to bake for 8 minutes, but I baked mine for almost 13. Transfer the cookies to a cooling rack.

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert, Oats and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More Cookies!

  1. Carol S. says:

    Hannah – you could have sent a few of these or the Cowboy cookies along with Greg the other day. We wouldn’t have complained.

Leave a Reply

