PUMPKIN!

For the last couple of months, I’ve had a routine. Every day after work, I walk over to the grocery store and see if there’s any pumpkin puree. I was beginning to think that pumpkin puree had become extinct. Because every day, I found myself staring at an empty shelf in the baking aisle.

Today, however, was different. I walked down the baking aisle, and found LOADS OF PUMPKIN!!! The first thing I did was load six 29 ounce cans into my basket. Then I stopped, took a deep breath, and realized that carrying 174 ounces of pumpkin home would not really be so much fun. So I put four cans back. It took a lot of emotional strength.

Here, my friends, I give you a seasonal twist on an old favorite. There are a lot more pumpkin recipes coming your way, I can assure you.

Overnight PUMPKIN! Oats

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1 Tbs chia seeds
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin
  • 1/4 cup yogurt
  • 1/4 cup soy milk
  • 1 tsp agave nectar
  • a pinch of nutmeg
  • a pinch of allspice
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Mix everything together and let it sit overnight. In the morning, top with the best toppings imaginable.

I topped mine with Bear Naked granola (the Peak Protein variety), raisins, and half a banana. If you’re extra hungry, I think a tablespoon of almond butter is excellent in this.

Pumpkin is a great thing to add to breakfast. Not only is it lovely and festive in fall, but it’s also very nutritious. One 1/2 cup serving of pumpkin is loaded with vitamin A, and also gives you 5 grams of fiber. Combine that with your oats and chia seeds, and you’ve got some serious fiber to keep you full until lunch!


About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Oats, Pumpkin and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to PUMPKIN!

  1. Carol S. says:

    Whoa! You are way more into pumpkin than I am, but I like the fiber and Vitamin A parts.

Leave a Reply

