Puck’s Halloween Pumpkin Granola

This was my first attempt at granola. It’s a little more like dessert than I wanted it to be, but I was too focused on making the recipe work to think about making it extra healthy. Perhaps there’s a healthier version on the horizon. Granola bars, perhaps?

Puck’s Halloween Pumpkin Granola

  • 2 1/2 cups oats
  • 1 cup raisins
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened coconut
  • 1/2 cup sucanat
  • 3/4 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/4 cup agave nectar
  • 3 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ginger
  • 1/4 tsp allspice
  • 1 egg

Preheat oven to 300 degrees F. Combine oats, raisins, coconut, sucanat, and spices in a bowl. Melt the butter in the microwave and combine with agave and pumpkin puree. Beat the egg in a separate bowl. Mix the dry ingredients with the pumpkin mixture. Stir in the egg. Spread on a baking sheet, and bake for about 40 minutes. The granola will NOT be crunchy when you take it out of the oven. I thought it would be, and I initially thought that my recipe was a dud. However, it will become crunchier as it cools.

Notes: Of course, you can add anything you want to granola. If you don’t like raisins, put in some other kind of dried fruit, seeds, nuts, anything you can think of. Also, I read that adding an egg helps to make clustery granola, which is why I did it. I’m sure it’s fine to leave the egg out.

Greg and I went to the Westown market in Zeidler Park this morning. Lovely poblano peppers, jalapeno peppers, apples, pears, and lettuce. I’m sure the poblanos will make an appearance soon.

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Baking, Breakfast, Oats, Pumpkin, Snacks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Puck’s Halloween Pumpkin Granola

  1. Carol S. says:

    I think I’m going to have to try this one. The pumpkin puree addition is something I’d never have thought of.

  2. Carol S. says:

    I went back to look at this recipe again …. the directions mention an egg but the ingredient list doesn’t include one. Did I blink?

  3. Pingback: Baked Tofu | Alimental

Leave a Reply

