Green Monster

I guess October is the perfect time to introduce the green monster. Don’t be scared though, it’s a nice monster.

I didn’t coin the term (see http://www.greenmonstermovement.com), but this is my  version of the green monster that I made for Greg this morning.

Green Monster Smoothie

  • 1 cup fresh spinach
  • 5 fresh strawberries
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1/4 cup plain yogurt
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 3/4 cup frozen peaches
  • 4 ice cubes

Throw everything into a sturdy vessel (or blender) and immersion blend (or regular blend) until smooth. Makes one large smoothie.

I know the spinach is scary, but I promise you won’t even taste it.

If you want an extra filling smoothie, add protein powder and some kind of nut butter. If you do so, you’ll need to add a little more liquid.

As I mentioned, I started a new job last week (which is why I’ve been MIA). I’m working at Penzeys Spices, and it’s awesome. I get to talk about food all day! I’m getting lots of new ideas and acquiring lots of new spices to try out.

Also, I work with other people who love food. The following was prepared for me by a coworker in our back room toaster oven.

It’s a fresh fig stuffed with goat cheese and cilantro, served on field greens with a mango chutney sauce. On a paper plate. It was DELICIOUS, and I will try my hardest to obtain the recipe to share here.

So there’s another reason to think my job is swell.

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Green Monster

  1. steph says:

    Beautiful!
    Sooooo…. Chris has never made anything like this for me? And so nicely plated?
    I see how it is. JK 🙂

    May the green Monster be with you. I love you~

Leave a Reply

