Vindaloo Curry

I’ve been quite productive today. I woke up feeling sluggish (probably due to my mom’s birthday dinner last night), but still managed to get a lot done, including several things that I’ve been putting off for quite a while.

I spent the morning tackling two projects that I’ve been meaning to get around to for a while. The first one was easy: framing wedding photos. Finally done.

The second was much more involved. Cleaning out and reorganizing my spices and baking supplies. Actually, it was even more involved than I thought it would be. Turns out I have a LOT of stuff. It really had to be done, especially now that I have a 30% discount at a spice store.

Yikes! And that’s not all. I had an additional box of spices as well.

Much better!

I found a lot of junk, a lot of good stuff that I haven’t been able to find for a while, and discovered that I was out of a few essentials. A trip to Penzeys was officially in order.

I was delighted when Greg’s plans changed and he came home early.

We took a break midday to grab coffee/tea with Emily.

Then, it was off to Penzeys and Trader Joe’s for Emily and me.

Our mom was working today! (Yes, I work with my mom)

Nothing too exciting at Trader Joe’s today, aside from this bag of dried fruit!

I was really after dates, but since they didn’t have them, I opted for the fig, apricot, and cherry combination. Pretty good! Not as good as dates!

Dried fruit is a big weak spot for me. I used to crave candies like Swedish Fish and Sour Patch Kids. Now, it’s all about raisins and dates. An improvement, but still loaded with sugar.

I came home and decided to get cooking! I picked up some vindaloo seasoning at work the other night, and I’ve been dying to try it out!

Vindaloo Curry

  • 1 sweet potato
  • 7 oz tofu, drained and cubed
  • 3/4 cup peas
  • 1/2 of a medium onion
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 3/4 cup sugar snap peas
  • 1 can light coconut milk
  • 1 cup vegetable broth
  • 3 tbsp vindaloo seasoning
  • soy sauce or liquid aminos to taste
  • 1 tbsp olive or vegetable oil

Heat oil in a medium saucepan. Add the tofu, sprinkle with a little vindaloo seasoning and soy sauce, and saute until slightly crispy. Add onion, bell pepper, sugar snap peas, and sweet potato, and cook for about 5 minutes on medium heat. Add the vegetable broth, coconut milk, peas, and vindaloo seasoning. Simmer for 15 minutes or until the sweet potato is soft. Serve with rice or quinoa (I used quinoa).

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Vindaloo Curry

  1. Emily says:

    That is one of the ugliest pictures I have ever seen of myself. Congratulations on also capturing my favorite barista of all time. xD

    THAT VINDALOO LOOKS FANTASTIC.

  2. Lisa says:

    I can’t think of a better read and visual feast to wake up to this morning! You’ve made me realize I have some spice cleaning and reorganizing to do, too…

    Hugs,
    Lisa

  3. Lisa says:

    P.S. Have you considered adding that little button that lets readers tweet your posts or add them to Facebook?

  4. Carol S. says:

    So when are your Penzey’s and Trader Joe contracts coming through? (Heh, heh.)

Leave a Reply

