Sweet Potato Muffins

This is a recipe from Penzeys that I changed up as I saw fit. Do me a favor and don’t eat these for breakfast. They’re absolutely delicious and could definitely be turned into a breakfast muffin, but not in this recipe. This is the kind of muffin that you could bribe someone with.

Sweet Potato Muffins

  • 1 1/2 cups mashed sweet potatoes (about 1 pound)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 stick butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 1 1/4 cups sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp double strength vanilla
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup pecans, chopped
  • 3/4 cup raisins

Cut the sweet potatoes into large pieces and boil until quite soft. Drain the water and mash.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. To the sweet potatoes, add the softened butter, eggs, sugar, vanilla, and almond milk. In a separate bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, and salt. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients. Add the cinnamon, nutmeg, raisins, and pecans.

Spoon batter into a greased muffin pan, and bake for 20-22 minutes.

This recipe makes about 20 muffins. I only baked 12 because I can only fit one muffin pan in my oven. Here’s what I did with the remaining 8.

Spoon the remaining batter into cupcake papers in a muffin pan (the muffin pan just helps maintain their shape).

Stick them in the freezer.

Once they’re frozen, take them out of the muffin pan and put them in a freezer bag. Now you have leftover muffins, and you don’t have to wait for the batter to thaw before you can get them in a pan and put them in the oven. Just add about 10 minutes to the baking time if you’re baking frozen muffins.

I had a bunch of projects going on the the kitchen today. A few of them you’ll see over the next few days, and one you won’t because it failed. Puck was by my side through the whole process.

He also helped me check out the squash that my aunt gave me.

You’ll definitely be seeing some recipes with this squash within the next week or two.

Sid was there too, though he was much less interested in what I was doing.

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert, Snacks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

