Southwest Style Quinoa

I was in a jam this morning regarding lunch, so it was quinoa to the rescue once again. This is a delicious, healthy lunch, it’s super easy, and it’s made with ingredients that I always have on hand.

Southwest Style Quinoa

  • 1 3/4 cups vegetable broth or water
  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 1 15 oz can black beans
  • 1 medium tomato, chopped
  • 1 tbsp dehydrated bell peppers
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1 tsp crushed red peppers (optional)
  • 1/2 tsp granulated garlic
  • salt and pepper to taste

Bring water or vegetable to a boil with the cumin, oregano, and garlic. Add quinoa, beans, bell peppers, and tomato. Return to a boil, reduce heat to low, cover, and cook for 20-22 minutes.

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Lunch, Sides and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Southwest Style Quinoa

  1. Carol S. says:

    Have you read _Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: A Year in the Life of Food_ by Barbara Kingsolver? I’m reading it right now and I think you’d enjoy it.

  2. alimental says:

    I have not read it, but I’ve heard good things. I’ll pick it up if I make it to the library tonight.

Leave a Reply

