Baking Gone Bananas

My task for today was to use the 14 bananas in my freezer.

That’s a lot of baking, but I thought I could handle it. I was wrong. I am having a hard day today. My head is cloudy, I’m extremely clumsy, and apparently I can’t count. I decided to go with 3 recipes: my mom’s banana bread, banana granola, and banana pumpkin bread.

The first, my mom’s banana bread, is the most wonderful banana bread in the world. Assuming that you can count, which I cannot. Here was my logic while assembling this recipe: the recipe calls for 2 cups of flour, but I’m doubling the recipe. That’s 6 cups of flour. So, my banana bread is ridiculously dry. However, I would still like to share with you the actual, beautiful recipe with you.

Banana Bread

  • 3 very ripe bananas
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) margarine
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp double strength vanilla
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Combine all wet ingredients in a bowl. In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking soda, and salt. Make sure that the baking soda is broken up and mixed in really well, as it has a tendency to clump in this recipe. Pour batter into a greased loaf pan.

Here’s a photo of my ugly banana bread:

Next, the banana granola. This actually turned out pretty well, and I’ll post the recipe soon.

Finally, I attempted to improvise a pumpkin banana bread. I’m usually pretty good at making up recipes, but this was absolutely bad. It turned out to be more like a spicy pumpkin goo. In a bad way.

The flavor was actually kind of wonderful, so maybe in the future I’ll be able to take this recipe and turn it into something with a much nicer texture.

Luckily, I did find a use for the banana bread as the weight upon my draining tofu.

Better luck tomorrow.

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baking Gone Bananas

  1. steph says:

    Hey Hannah,
    I really enjoy reading your posts. It’s good to see that you can keep a sense of humor when that bread just didn’t turn out the way you had hoped.🙂
    Keep up the good work! I look forward to the new.

Leave a Reply

