Jump Starting Day 1

It’s finally here: December 1, the first day of my winter activity thang!

I really wanted to get a good start on this thing TODAY while temperatures are still above zero, there’s no snow on the ground, and I am feeling very motivated. 9.5 miles later, I would say that I have done quite a decent job.

The breakdown:

  • 5 miles intervals on the treadmill
  • 1 mile cool down on the treadmill
  • 0.8 mile round trip walk to the gym
  • 0.5 mile walk home from appointment
  • 2.2 miles round trip walk to grocery store

It’s amazing how things add up when you walk instead of driving or taking the bus! Google maps has a nifty little thing where you can change the driving directions/distances to walking directions/distances, which is how I found the non-treadmill distances.

I started my day with my pre-workout breakfast of choice: grapefruit!

Fact: I love peeling grapefruit.

On days that I go to the gym in the morning, I eat two breakfasts. The first is a pre-workout breakfast, which is very small and only eaten in order to keep my stomach from growling and sloshing around at the gym. The second is a post workout breakfast, which is much more serious.

Post workout breakfast was a bowl of oats with pumpkin, half a banana, a splash of agave nectar and a whole bunch of cinnamon. Looks like sludge, tastes like the most wonderful thing ever.

On the agenda this evening: Dead and Gone, which I just found out is NOT the final Sookie Stackhouse novel. Quite a relief.

In summary: 9.5 miles down, 90.5 miles to go.

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Exercise, Goals. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

