Day 9: Chana Masala and Cranberry Relish

I have been eating some amazing bowls of oatmeal lately. Here’s one from yesterday:

Oats, granny smith apple, dried cranberries, slivered almonds, cinnamon, and a splash of agave nectar.

Today also started with a fantastic bowl of oats, which was devoured before it could have its picture taken. Pretty much the same idea, but with a pear and pecans instead of apple and almonds.

After breakfast, I was off to Whole Foods (a 1 mile walk, round trip) to pick up a couple of ingredients for today’s cooking. Tomatoes and tomato sauce for some Chana Masala, and a couple of apples for my mom’s Cranberry Relish.

Finally I was off to the gym, equipped with some new tunes on my iPod courtesy of my sister. Seriously, Whitney Houston might be the best running music ever. Or at least a close second to Cake. I had a very nice 5.2 mile run/jog, plus the obvious 0.8 miles to and from the gym.

The best part of getting out the gym in the winter is the walk home. The exercise high is still in effect, and the cold air feels so good. Then I feel like a complete badass. Not only am I conquering winter, I am reveling in it. At least when it’s not too windy. Or icy. Or snowing.

On to the food!

Cranberry Relish

  • 1 12oz bag of cranberries
  • 1 large orange
  • 2 apples (I used 1 pink lady and 1 granny smith)
  • 1 1/2 cups walnuts
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup agave nectar

Wash the fruit, core the apples and cut into large pieces, and cut the orange into large pieces (leave the peel on!). Put the fruit and walnuts, sugar, and agave nectar into a food processor, and pulse until desired texture is achieved. My food processor is kind of small, so I did this in two batches. I really can’t get enough of this stuff.

Mmmmm…

When Greg came home, we were off to Whole Foods one more time because I forgot a few ingredients for my Chana masala: a lemon, and serrano pepper, and a piece of fresh ginger. Some beer, tea, naan, and paneer also made it into our basket. We stopped for a cup of coffee on the way home, and made it back just before the snow started to fly.

A bit after 5, I decided it was time to start improvising some chana masala. I am very pleased with the result!

Chana Masala

  • 2 1/2 cups chickeas, cooked, no salt added
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 15oz can diced tomatoes
  • 2 tbsp butter (you can use olive oil, but there’s something magical about butter)
  • 1 serrano pepper, diced
  • 2 large carrots, sliced
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 1 large clove garlic, minced
  • 2 tsp fresh grated ginger
  • 1 cup fresh spinach, chopped
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 1 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • 2 tsp garam masala
  • 1 tsp salt

Melt the butter in a medium saucepan. Add serrano pepper, garlic, ginger, onion, and carrots. Cook until the onions are translucent, about 4 minutes. Add the chickpeas, tomatoes, and all spices. Simmer until the carrots are tender. Stir in lemon juice and chopped spinach. Serve with rice or naan.

Chana masala served with whole wheat naan.

This is comfort food at its finest. It’s warm, spicy, full of flavor, and wonderfully healthy.

Summary: 8 miles in total today, 45.2 miles down, 54.8 miles to go.

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Dinner, Exercise, Goals, Sides. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 9: Chana Masala and Cranberry Relish

  1. le7 says:

    That looks delicious!

  2. steph says:

    This looks wonderful! I enjoy reading your blog so much. Very enjoyable.
    Keep up the good work. So proud of you🙂

Leave a Reply

