Days 18, 19, and 20: Birthday Weekend

No day 17 post, because there’s really nothing to say but 0 miles.

Saturday began with two of my favorite things: Greek yogurt and a haircut. I’m still unsure about the actual result of the haircut, but the experience is always a positive one. Post haircut, Greg and I stopped at the Public Market for some final Christmas shopping, a pita with hummus, and two truffles.

One truffle disappeared on the way home…

Then, after one quick errand (0.6 miles), it was off to the gym for me. 3 miles (+ 0.8 miles to and from the gym) on the treadmill and some serious arm work ensued.

This brings me to 4.4 miles for the day. 69.6 miles down, 30.4 remaining.

A quick bite and a quick shower, and I was ready for birthday party #1 of the weekend.

Homemade pizzas at the Surges home. So delicious.

Here’s mine with tomato sauce, pesto, mozzarella, goat cheese, olives, onions, green peppers, and sundried tomatoes.

Greg and Becca (his sister)

Tangerine Trifle for dessert

Day 19 began with a quick 3.8 miles. (73.4 miles down, 26.6 miles left). Then, it was off to birthday party #2: preparing an Indian feast at the Voss home.

On the menu: matar paneer, chana masala, samosas, cilantro mint chutney, and tomato chutney.

Preparing Samosas

Recipes for everything to come, but the mint and cilantro chutney was SO good and SO easy that I’ll give you the recipe right now.

Mint Cilantro Chutney

  • 1 cup mint leaves
  • 1/2 bunch cilantro
  • 1/2 bunch geen onions
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1 serrano pepper
  • 1 heaping tsp ground coriander
  • 1/4 cup water
  • salt to taste

Toss everything into a food processor except for the water. Turn the food processor on and gradually add the water until the consistency is like a thick sauce.

My actual birthday, December 20, was possibly the most relaxing day I’ve had in a very long time. While I did intend to go to the gym initially, I decided that about 4 miles of walking was good enough (77.4 miles down, 22.6 left).

After all, I had a lot of reading to do since my wonderful husband gave me a Kindle and an Amazon gift card to match. I bought and read half of The Hunger Games. It’s good. In the afternoon we went to see Black Swan. In the evening we gorged ourselves with Thai food. It was a good, good day.

Now, Back to the real world.

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Dinner, Exercise, Goals, Sides. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

