Days 28 and 29, the finish line

Day 28: 1.5 miles of walking around town. (4.3 miles remain)

Day 29: 0.8 miles walking to and from the gym, 3.5 miles on the treadmill. Then about another 1.8 miles of walking, but I’m already at 100 so whatever.

100 miles, done. Holidays, done.

Reflections on the goal:

  • It worked like a charm at the beginning of the month when I didn’t really have a feel for what it would take me to complete 100 miles. Remember those days where I was close to 10 miles?
  • It was too easy. When it became obvious that I wasn’t going to have any problem reaching 100 miles, I didn’t think to reset the goal in order to make it more challenging. I just let my workouts get kind of leisurely. I do not think that every workout has to be ass kickingly hard in order to be good for you. But I stopped challenging myself, which was kind of the point of this whole thing.
  • It made me focus on cardio, and nothing more. Strength training was out the window. Clean eating was more or less kicked to the curb. Any focus on other aspects of a balanced, healthy lifestyle (Relaxation? Stress reduction?) were not really on my radar.

So okay, this was not a perfect goal. But I did run/walk 100 miles this month, which is most likely more exercise than I’ve ever had during a December. In that was, it was a success. Plus, it’s always a good thing to accomplish a goal that you set for yourself, so no complaints there.

I’m taking these last couple days in December to think of the improvements I’d like to make in 2011. I love making resolutions. It feels so optimistic.

See you tomorrow with food, I hope.

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Goals. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Days 28 and 29, the finish line

  1. Pingback: I Resolve… | Lisa Rivero

Leave a Reply

