Resolutions

My resolutions:

Exercise every day.

  • Because I want to have a healthy body, not because I have to.
  • Even if it’s just a stroll through the neighborhood.
  • Mix it up. Running is not the only thing out there.
  • Continue with strength training 2-3 times per week.
  • Schedule at least 2 “long” runs per week.
  • Big goal: run 3 miles in 27 minutes or under. I’m a slow runner. Can I run ONE 9 minute mile? Sure. Can I run THREE consecutive 9 minute miles? Sure. I just haven’t done it yet.

Experiment in the kitchen.

  • Try a new recipe at least once a week.
  • Find delicious ways to prepare vegetables that I wouldn’t normally choose.
  • Learn new skills (pie crusts, bread with yeast, etc.).
  • Use new ingredients.

Eat good food.

  • Planning ahead = better food choices. So plan ahead.
  • Check ingredients on all labels. No corn syrup or hydrogenated oils.
  • Listen to my body. Eat the foods that I know make me feel happy and energized.
  • Eat a large serving of vegetables during lunch and dinner, include vegetables in snacks.
  • Drink at least 100 ounces of water every day.
  • Big goal: eliminate artificial sweeteners. That means you, diet coke. I’m not sure I’m capable of kicking this, but I’m going to give it a try.

Read.

  • Aim for 1 book per week.
  • Learn a thing or two about history and geography (the two largest gaps in my education).

Write.

  • Continue to update and improve this blog.

Relax.

  • Stop being so hard on myself. Believe that I’m alright as is.
  • Develop an evening routine conducive to restful sleep.
  • Meditate for 5 minutes per day. Increase if possible.
  • Yoga.

Some of these are still kind of vague, and I’m sure more goals will be added throughout the year. What are your resolutions?

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Goals. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Resolutions

  1. Emily says:

    Lets make pie crust together. It’ll be a domestic, sisterly bonding moment.

Leave a Reply

