Gingery Teriyaki Stir Fry

As of the morning of January 5, I have finished Mockingjay. Anyone else a little disappointed by the ending in terms of love interest? I’m not saying that I didn’t absolutely love this trilogy (I did), but come on. I really didn’t see that coming.

I’m now reading Siddhartha, which I’ve been meaning to get to for a while. I’m about a third through it, and I’m really enjoying it.

I haven’t had a reason to cook for the last few days, since Greg acquired this cookbook:

The Indian Slow Cooker by Anupy Singla. So far, the food has been beyond good.

Tonight, however, I am in the mood for something sweet and spicy. I’ve been craving something like this for a few days now, so I did all of my prep work last night just to ensure that I would actually cook when I came home from work.

Gingery Teriyaki Stir Fry


First, one must prepare the sauce. Teriyaki sauce is something that, in my opinion, should never be purchased. It is really insanely easy to make, and it tastes so much better than any bottled variety. Another plus: no corn syrup of any kind.

Superb Teriyaki Sauce

  • 1/2 cup tamari or soy sauce
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1 tbsp agave nectar or honey
  • 1 heaping tsp minced garlic (I used the new Penzey’s minced garlic, which is freeze dried and awesome, but of course fresh would work at least as well)
  • 1 heaping tsp grated fresh ginger
  • 1/2 tsp crushed red peppers
  • 1 tbsp corn starch, dissolved in a small amount of water

In a small saucepan over medium heat, combine the soy sauce, water, sweetener, garlic, and ginger. When hot, add the corn starch and water mixture and reduce heat to low. Simmer for about 5 minutes, allowing the sauce to thicken. Stir in crushed red peppers.

In the stir fry:

  • 1 14oz package of extra firm tofu, drained overnight
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 3 large carrots
  • 1 medium onion
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 2.5 cups broccoli florets
  • 8oz dry whole wheat linguini

Tofu marinade:

  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup water
  • juice from 1/2 a lemon
  • 1/2 tsp crushed red peppers
  • 1/2 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 tsp sucanat, or sweetener of choice

Marinate the tofu for at least an hour or two. Longer is better. Cook the pasta. Heat the olive oil in a large saucepan. Add the tofu, and cook until it’s brown and a little crispy. Remove from pan. To the same pan, add the chopped onions and carrots. Cook for a few minutes, and then add the red bell peppers and broccoli florets. Cook until the vegetables reach the desired texture, and add the tofu, pasta, and teriyaki sauce.

It was really good. Greg didn’t even mind the whole wheat pasta.

I had a little too much time on my hands at work today, which always leads to shopping on the job. I picked out two kinds of chili peppers that I’ve been meaning to try. The sanaam peppers are traditional in Indian cooking, and the dundicuts are Pakistani peppers that I was mostly attracted to because they’re so cute, and they’re supposed to be really spicy.

I’m off tomorrow, but my fridge is filled with leftovers and we’re going out with Greg’s family for Vietnamese in the evening. Maybe it’s a day to attempt bread making or some other kind of baking.

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Books, Dinner, Slow Cooker. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

