Bread!

After finishing yesterday’s post, Greg and I decided to venture out into the nasty weather to the library. I was in search of some new baking books. Bread baking books, specifically.

You may recall that I have never successfully made bread, and also that it was one of my resolutions to learn how.

There really wasn’t much of a selection, but I did find this book, which looked pretty good.

I also brought this one home, since I’ve had my eye on it for a while.

Though I don’t have a gluten allergy, I do love experimenting with new ingredients! After a quick look, it seems pretty awesome. Lots of interesting ingredients, some that I’ve used, some that I haven’t. Everything does look very delicious and pretty healthy. There’s not one recipe that uses sugar! Love! Even the frostings are sweetened with agave nectar.

So obviously, after I checked these books out from the library, a trip to Whole Foods was in order. I kept it simple and just bought some whole wheat flour and yeast to attempt a loaf of bread. Some further research is required for some of the gluten free recipes in the Babycakes book.

I chose a simple bread to start with, which was made with half all purpose and half whole wheat flour. I worked on the loaf well into the night (well, until about 11pm, way past my bedtime). I was really not expecting it to work. I thought it was rising, but I wasn’t sure. When I finally took it out of the oven, I couldn’t believe my eyes. It really looked like bread! Unfortunately, I was way too tired to actually enjoy it.

When I woke up this morning, I remembered my bread (I think I was actually dreaming about bread last night). I sped to the kitchen to make sure it was real.

It was real! It wasn’t just the best dream ever!

It was so awesome that I just wanted to give it a big hug.

Instead, I just ate it.

It was really decent bread! Soft and chewy on the inside, crusty on the outside.

I can’t wait to try another recipe!

Today, Greg and I are spending the morning at Alterra working on our respective projects.

Tea sipping (tangerine ginger).

Snacking.

This outing will also be followed by a trip to Whole Foods. I need some chic ingredients.

Have an awesome day everyone, and may all of your dreams about wonderful, homemade bread turn out to be real in the morning.

 

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bread!

  1. Domesticated Dad says:

    Never managed to make bread eh?

    Start out with a soda bread recipe, it doesn’t need all that time it takes to rise as they don’t have any yeast. The magic comes from baking soda!

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/nigels_lazy_loaf_71344

    I have found that recipe works well…

  2. Kathleen Houda aka Aunt Kathy says:

    LOVED the account of your success. Can’t wait to hear all your helpful hints.

  3. tschitschi says:

    I am just on the first attempts of baking my own bread too🙂 congrats to your successful one!

Leave a Reply

