Spelt and Sweet Potatoes

I didn’t get to the gym yesterday until a little after 4pm. Oh man, my run was infinitely more difficult with about 6 slices of bread in my belly. So difficult, in fact, that I ended up doing some walking in order to catch my breath. Something tells me that bread baking is not the best hobby for me. None the less, I did manage 35 minutes (just under 3.25 miles) of walking/running on the treadmill. Better than nothing, which is what I had planned to do.

Today was easier (4 miles in 43:50), but I still hadn’t recovered from the bread overdose. For the first time, I am really feeling a connection between what I eat and how I run.

As for food, I had 3 sweet potatoes that needed to be used. I decided to whip up an old favorite for dinner: sweet potato and black bean enchiladas. Since I really only needed 1 sweet potato for that recipe, I thought I’d also try a healthy version of those delicious sweet potato muffins that I posted a while back. By the way, both of the original recipes can be found in the recipe archive.

Having decided what the food plan was, Greg and I were off to our most dreaded grocery stop: Pick n’ Save. I really hate this place, but there are some things that are just not worth paying more for. I love you, Whole Foods, but really? $1.20 for an 8oz can of tomato sauce? No thanks.

One item on my list was whole wheat tortillas, but every ingredients list was about a mile long. So I gave up and went home without them. I was really not in the mood to leave the house again, so after a lot of back and forth, I decided that I would try to make my own spelt tortillas.

Number of ingredients in whole wheat tortillas at Pick n’ Save: 1 million.

Number of ingredients in homemade spelt tortillas: 5.

Spelt Tortillas

  • 2 cups spelt flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 3/4 cup hot water

Combine all dry ingredients. Mix well, and then add the water and oil. Form a ball of dough and let sit in a warm place for 20 minutes. Divide the dough into 8 equal parts, and let sit for another 20 minutes. Roll out and shape each tortilla. Heat a frying pan over medium heat, and coat lightly with cooking spray. Cook each tortilla for 1-2 minutes on each side.

They’re really good!

Now for that healthy spin on sweet potato muffins. They turned out very well, but the muffins will be darker in color due to the use of sucanat instead of sugar.

HEALTHY Sweet Potato Muffins

  • 3/4 cup oat flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 cups sweet potato puree
  • 1 1/4 cups sucanat
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 1/4 cup non-dairy milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp double strength vanilla
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp allspice
  • 3/4 cup raisins
  • 3/4 cup chopped pecans

Preheat oven to 350. Combine wet ingredients and dry ingredients in separate bowls. Combine all ingredients, mix well. Stir in pecans and raisins. Transfer batter into a greased muffin pan. Bake for 20-22 minutes. Makes about 20 muffins.

 

 

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dinner. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

