Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

Hummus is a great snack or sandwich spread, and so cheap and easy to make. It’s also fun to make variations, and easy to customize so that it’s always just the way you like it.

I like my hummus extra spicy and extra garlicky. Cut back on the garlic and cayenne if you want yours to be a little more mild (or if you want to be able to go out in public after eating it).

The smoked paprika is optional, but it adds a very elegant flavor that complements the roasted peppers very nicely.

Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

  • 1/2 of one large roasted red pepper
  • 2 cups cooked chickpeas, no salt added
  • 1/2 cup tahini
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1/3 cup chopped onion
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 tsp salt (or to taste)
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika (optional)

Place the chickpeas, tahini, roasted pepper, onions, garlic, olive oil, spices, and lemon juice in a food processor. Turn the food processor on, and gradually add water until the desired consistency is reached (you might not use all the water, or you might want a little more). Keep the hummus in the fridge for at least an hour before serving.

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Sides, Snacks. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

  1. I love hummus and make it frequently. I usually roast my own red pepper(s), and would for sure use one whole red pepper for 2 cups of chickpeas. Also, I never add onion to mine. Just don’t like the bite of raw onion. I use plenty of garlic, though. I like the idea of adding more spices — the turmeric and smoked paprika, in particular (I use cumin in everything anyway!) Where do you find smoked paprika? I have looked for it, but can’t find any! I have a recipe for cabbage soup that calls for it and while it’s very good the way it is (with regular paprika), I’m intrigued to try it!

  2. alimental says:

    I roast red peppers and keep them in the freezer. They’re great to have on hand. I don’t use a whole one just because I add so much tahini (I think most recipes I’ve seen only call for 1/4-1/3 cup). Maybe I should make a separate batch without onions so that I can eat it at work without offending anyone🙂

    I get my smoked paprika at Penzeys.

    • I was going to ask where you live, but see it’s Milwaukee. We don’t have “Penzeys” in NJ! I’ll just have to find it elsewhere.

      If no one objects to your onions, and you like them, I’d say keep them in. I’ve never seen a hummus recipe with onions, but I have finally realized you can add just about anything to hummus and it’s good. Chives, green onions, which I like, will be going in there soon!

      I recently added roasted red pepper and basil (was feeling adventurous) and it was delicious! I don’t like a whole lot of tahini, myself, so maybe that’s one of the reasons I tend to use more rrp. I also use more garlic than your recipe calls for. That is the beauty of homemade hummus — you can make it exactly the way you like it.

Leave a Reply

