Detox Day 3

Much better today. Still congested, but not feeling achey or feverish, and no sore throat. I also slept for almost 8 hours straight last night, which is always a wonderful thing.

Breakfast was a huge plate of fruit sprinkled with coconut and cinnamon and some walnuts.

I probably would have made banana oats again if we had bananas, but this really hit the spot.

Over the last couple of days, I finally got around to reading Eat To Live by  Dr. Joel Fuhrman, a book that I’ve been hearing a lot about lately. Eat To Live outlines a diet that consists entirely (or almost entirely) of unrefined plant foods. Sound just like vegan diet? It pretty much is, but it’s certainly not the diet of any vegans that I know, nor does it look anything like the diet that I followed during my 5+ years of veganism.

I know first hand that it is EASY to eat a vegan diet that is nowhere near healthy. But a way of eating that consists of at least 90% unrefined, unprocessed plant foods? You’re talking about a lot of salad, Dr. Fuhrman. And that’s exactly what he’s talking about. Two pounds every day, to be exact. These are the basics for daily food consumption:

  • 1 pound of raw vegetables
  • 1 pound cooked vegetables
  • 4 pieces/servings of fruit or more
  • 1 cup or more of beans or tofu
  • starchy vegetables, bread, seeds, nuts, and avocados are limited, especially for people trying to lose weight.

What did I think of the book? It was interesting to read, but also kind of preachy and a little bit obnoxious. It did have a lot of good information, and I liked the focus on health and wellbeing rather than making it about weight loss. However, he weight loss testimonials, and the use of Dr. Fuhrman’s special line of seasonings and flavored vinegars in every recipe, were a bit much for me.

My real question was how on earth someone could eat 2 pounds of vegetables a day. So today, I decided to find out how realistic it was.

For lunch, I ate a huge salad. And I mean huge. My confession: I don’t love lettuce. I don’t even particularly love raw salads. They’re so cold and damp. But, since the book recommends eating an entire head of romaine lettuce every day, I thought I’d give it a shot.

In the salad:

  • 4.5 ounces lettuce (about double my normal amount of lettuce)
  • 2.45 ounces carrots
  • 2.2 ounces red bell pepper
  • 4 ounces tomato

Total weight of raw vegetables: 13.15 ounces

DANG, I thought. I’m still going to have to eat more raw vegetables at dinner. I figured I’d better get some cooked vegetables up in this salad, since I still had a whole pound of those to eat.

I came up with the brilliant idea (if I do say so myself) of cooking down some tomatoes, onions, and garlic, into a sauce to use as my salad dressing.

The weight of the cooked vegetables was 6.5 ounces. Not bad!

Honestly, this salad was hard to eat. By the time I finished it, I was really sick of eating, but I was still hungry. So I also ate an apple.

Now, for dinner, I just needed to eat 2.85 ounces of raw vegetables, and 9.5 ounces of cooked vegetables for dinner. Oh, and that cup of beans.

My dinner was awesome, and I forgot to photograph it. Luckily, I’m having the same thing for lunch tomorrow, so you can see it then. It was spaghetti squash, about a cup of chickpeas, and almost no sodium tomato sauce. It was really satisfying. For me, spaghetti is all about the sauce, so I had no problem with the fact that I was eating squash instead of pasta.

I didn’t eat those last 3 ounces of raw vegetables, because holy crap I REALLY didn’t want to. I wanted warm food. That is why I don’t go after salads. I just like warm food.

Food cravings were way worse today. I don’t care about the dairy or eggs, and even my sugar cravings haven’t been intolerable, but I really want tofu and bread. I think I’ll start going back to normal (slowly) at the end of Saturday or Sunday.

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

