What Is A Scruffin?

According to Angela at ohsheglows.com (one of my ultimate favorite blogs), it’s a hybrid of scone, muffin, and cookie. I think it’s just plain amazing.

Last night, I made the Healthy Carrot Cake Power Scruffins (recipe here), and today, I had to make another batch. I did make a few changes in mine, just to suit my preferences and the contents of my pantry.

Batter ready to go into the oven.

My adjustments:

  • 2 tbsp coconut oil instead of 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp 2x vanilla instead of single strength
  • 1/3 c agave nectar instead of 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • Extra raisins
  • 1/4 c coconut mixed in instead of just for garnish.

Everyone in the world should try these.

In other news, Puck cat had a vet appointment this morning. Turns out that we’re not being paranoid, and he really is too thin. The vet is running blood tests, and we should (hopefully) know what’s wrong by tomorrow. Wish us luck.

Poor guy. He’ll be okay. He’s tough.

On to the food.

Purple (blueberry) oats for breakfast today!

Why have I never thought of adding frozen fruit to my oats? This bowl was GOOD, and I really loved eating purple oats.

I had a Packer pride salad for lunch.

Just kidding, I don’t watch football. Romaine, spinach, yellow squash, and broccoli.

I also ate this beautiful seeduction roll.

And some not very delicious lentil soup (no salt added, from a can).

At least it was warm.

Afternoon snack:

A scruffin, of course! Can you believe I waited until 4pm to eat one? I’m getting pretty good at eliminating out of control snacking.

Dinner was kind of random. When I asked Greg what he wanted this morning, he described a Thanksgiving dinner. Not gonna happen. I did buy him a potato though, and roasted that with some acorn squash. However, I also had some baby bok choy. So in addition to the roasted potato and squash, I made a bok choy stir fry. I even put some mushrooms in as a small gesture of my immense love for Greg.

My bowl, mushrooms removed.

This picture is exactly the reason that I don’t post pictures of my dinner more often. I need to make a light box.

Apparently there’s a “snowpocalypse” on the way to Milwaukee. My boss called to let me know we might be closed tomorrow, and he’d try to let me know before I leave. I guess we’ll see what happens overnight. I’ve heard everything from 1 foot to 1 million feet plus an inch of ice.

 

 

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Is A Scruffin?

  1. eva626 says:

    hey nice food!!! lol love the scruffin! …cute cat too haha. love your blog btw…
    visit mine too
    http://www.herenownotforever.wordpress.com
    dont forget to comment and subscribe *smiling*

Leave a Reply

