Snowpocalypse

It did actually snow. A lot. Some even came in through the side door of our apartment building.

Outside was even more ridiculous.

Greg and I decided that we still wanted to hike over to Whole Foods to get some ingredients for a lovely dinner.

Most of the sidewalks were more or less plowed, but you’ll notice that the snow is almost waist high, and we’re not particularly short people.

Our main ingredients for tonight: Red lentils and collard greens. We also bought beer, a snowpocalypse must.

Greg decided that he was going to make our two favorite Ethiopian dishes: Gomen and Mesir Wat. We don’t have much experience with Ethiopian cooking, but it turned out so well tonight that I think we’ll be cooking this cuisine much more often. I even ordered a Berbere spice blend, which should be here next week.

Since we don’t know how to make injera yet, I whipped up some spelt tortillas to use instead.

Greens steaming

Gomen (left) and Mesir Wat (right) on the stove.

Ignore our filthy stove. It is well loved.

It was ridiculously good. I can’t wait to post recipes once Greg perfects them!

The Mesir Wat was REALLY hot. We’ll have to tone it down next time.

Still ridiculously good, and really authentic tasting.

I hope everyone who was hit by the blizzard is enjoying the day off 🙂

 

 

 

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Dinner. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Snowpocalypse

  1. Cassie X says:

    Our blizzard is still rolling here.
    Looks like you guys had some fun cooking a cool looking meal. 🙂
    I’m making fresh homemade chicken soup.

  2. Lisa says:

    I’ll be waiting for a future injera recipe. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Bookmark Friday | Log Off. Write On.

  4. Count me in too! The food looks absolutely droolin’ good 😀

  5. Kattsby says:

    First off, thank you for reminding me of the word ‘injera’. I’ve had it … many, many years ago … made by some guy from Eritrea. The other day, I was thinking about that actual meal, but couldn’t remember the word. Been digging in my mental harddrive so it became more wrinkled than it was to start with.

    You guys have a great deal of snow … much more than we. It was a good sized blizzard.

    Great post! I’ve lived in a place where snow came in, but now we’re on the 9th floor 🙂

Leave a comment