Springtime

A most superb breakfast always gets my day started on the right foot (the sunny springlike weather doesn’t hurt either). I was indecisive this morning and absolutely could not decide what sounded best. Of course, the solution to this conundrum is to have a little of everything. 🙂

Banana oats

and Greek yogurt with fresh raspberries.

I also had a spoonful of almond butter, straight from the jar.

After breakfast and a quick shower, I ran some errands on foot (a bit over 3 miles). Even though it’s still below freezing, it is such a beautiful sunny day that it feels a little like spring.

A late morning snack, accompanied by a few minutes of paging through Clean Food and my new issue of Yoga Journal.

Oat squares (best cereal in the world), almond milk, and a baby apple.

A few hours later, I ate an enormous salad for lunch.

Romaine, tomato, cucumber, snap peas, pinto beans, and some feta. Plus another baby apple.

Then, it was time for a trip to the library. I picked up two Charlaine Harris mysteries and two cookbooks.

I’m particularly excited about Vegan Soul Kitchen.

I spent the afternoon cleaning the house and reading, and now I’m off to make some dinner for my darling husband.

I had every intention of making/posting a bean dip recipe, but I realized that I didn’t have two of the ingredients, and that I’d eaten most of the pinto beans. Oh well. Soon.

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Books, Breakfast, Lunch, Salads. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Springtime

  1. Jenny says:

    Nothing starts the day like a bowl of banana oats! 🙂

  2. The bean dip recipe from “Moosewood Cookbook” is the best. I used to hate (canned) bean dip and then I made the one from “MC”. It is soooo good! Takes about 1 min. to whiz up in the food processor and is always a hit when I serve it! Yummmmmm-eeee!

Leave a Reply

