Vegetable Stew with Kale, Chickpeas, and Butternut Squash

Greg and I had an awesome stew for dinner last night from the Moosewood Restaurant Cooking For Health cookbook. It caught my attention right away, since it called for some of my favorite ingredients: butternut squash, chickpeas, and kale.

Isn’t kale the most beautiful thing? It’s my most underused favorite vegetable.

Laziness is no excuse! There’s nothing to preparing kale.

Italian Vegetable Stew

  • 1 large white onion, chopped
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 6 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 28oz can of diced tomatoes
  • 1 15oz can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 2 cups butternut squash, diced (I used frozen)
  • 1 very large bunch of kale, stems removed and leaves torn into small pieces
  • 3 large carrots, chopped
  • 1 medium red bell pepper, chopped
  • 2 cups water
  • 1.5 tsp salt (less if your canned items contain salt)
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp thyme
  • 1 tsp oregano

Heat the olive oil in a large saucepan or stock pot. Add the onions, garlic, and salt, and cook over medium heat until the onion is very soft. Add the thyme, black pepper, and oregano, and cook for a bit longer (1-2 minutes). Add the water, tomatoes, chickpeas, carrots, red bell pepper, and squash. Simmer until the vegetables begin to soften (10-15 minutes). Finally, add the kale leaves and allow to steam with the cover on for about 10 minutes.

I know it’s cheesy to call something delicious and nutritious, but that’s exactly how I’d describe this stew.

Today was quite a nice day, and fairly productive. I was up and at the gym bright and early. We had breakfast with my parents and did our laundry at their house, and then we borrowed their car. We did most of our errand running and grocery shopping for the week, and we even dropped off a load of books at Half Price Books.

This evening, Greg is doing homework and I’m getting things in order for a new week. In addition, I’ll probably finish my book (Shakespeare’s Landlord by Charlaine Harris, it’s not very good), and we’ll grab some Turkish food and watch The IT Crowd (another British show, akin to but not as funny as The Mighty Boosh).

Enjoy the rest of your weekend, folks.

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Soups. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vegetable Stew with Kale, Chickpeas, and Butternut Squash

  1. Stephanie Voss AKA Cayenne says:

    Hey Hannah,
    This stew looks amazing. I love everything about kale. Funny that you and I are posting recipes at the same time using kale. Kale rocks! đŸ™‚
    It was so nice to spend some time with you and Greg. I love you so much. Be peaceful,trust and believe that everything is going to work out. Count your blessings.
    Thanks for being such a wonderful daughter. love you always, your mom

Leave a Reply

