TVP Enchilada Filling

I woke up ravenous this morning.

Oatmeal squares, almond milk, banana, strawberries, and a dollop of Greek yogurt. All of which I ate before 7am.

I skipped the gym this morning, but ran my errands on foot and went out for another short walk with Greg, so I still ended up walking over 4 miles. It was sunny and in the 40’s today, so it felt like SUMMER. This is Wisconsin. We have very low standards.

All of this nice weather makes me want to go shopping…

Anyway.

At our house, enchiladas are on the menu pretty much every week. While I do adore black bean and sweet potato enchiladas, I usually make them with this awesome TVP filling. It’s somewhat of a staple for us, because it works perfectly in pretty much any Mexican dish, and it’s also an awesome salad topping.

TVP Enchilada Filling

  • 1.5 cups TVP
  • 1.5 cups hot water
  • 1 cup cooked black beans
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1/2 c thinly sliced bell pepper
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, optional
  • taco seasoning of choice, to taste

Combine the TVP and hot water in a medium bowl. Heat the olive oil in a medium saucepan, and saute the bell peppers and jalapeno pepper for 2-3 minutes. Add the TVP when it has absorbed the water, followed by the beans and taco seasoning (of course, I used Penzeys).

Today, I used the frozen bell peppers from Trader Joe’s, and they worked fine. In this case, I omitted the oil and just heated everything in the pan and let it cook for a bit.

YUM.

My plate: lettuce and heirloom tomatoes, an enchilada, and half of a very disappointing avocado.

Now I’m off to tidy up, stretch, and read a book until my man gets home.


About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Dinner. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

