Food All Day

Thursday is probably my favorite day of the week at this time. Greg is off on Thursdays this semester, so I’ve been trying to take the day off from work as well. It’s nice to have a day during the week when we’re both home and can get some things done, or just do some hanging out together.

I’ve been on an extreme early to bed, early to rise routine, even for me. I was up and at it at just a few minutes after 6 this morning. With no alarm. On a day off. Since I didn’t have to work, I decided to eat breakfast and catch up on some blog reading before I hit the gym.

Oatmeal squares, almond milk, and a sliced banana.

Are you getting sick of seeing the same breakfast all the time? I’m sure not getting sick of eating it.🙂

And an apple with almond butter.

I spent an hour on the treadmill, which was incredibly dull. I can’t wait to be exercising outside again. My late morning snack was this leftover piece of goat cheese and asparagus quiche that Greg made last night (from the February 2011 issue of Vegetarian Times).

It was incredibly good. We’ll definitely be making that again before asparagus goes out of season. My only suggestion is to make this dish on a day that you’re also making custard (or buy pre-isolated egg whites). We ended up tossing 5 egg yolks. Boo.

I had a lunch date today with my sister, who would not cooperate with being photographed. We went to Beans and Barley for our favorite thing on the menu: burritos.

I had the sweet potato and black bean burrito.

We also ordered pickles…

and a slice of carrot cake to go.

Back at home, Greg and I did a tiny bit of cleaning and settled into our respective desks to get some things done (or not really, in my case).

It was a frozen pizza night in this house. Pre-pizza, we enjoyed this big plate of veggies.

Cucumbers, snap peas, and heirloom tomatoes.

Post-pizza, I enjoyed a dessert of apple slices and Greek yogurt, plus a couple squares of dark chocolate.

Time to call it a night. I can’t believe tomorrow is Friday already!

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Dining out, Lunch. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Food All Day

  1. Emily says:

    UGHHHHHHH

  2. 40daykedge says:

    That quiche looks delicious. Is that from the current vegetarian times? I am making quiche to bring to a party this weekend and this asparagus version looks fantastic.

    • alimental says:

      It’s in the one before the current issue (Feb 2011), the one with the kale lasagna on the cover. It was awesome. Also, sorry for the delayed response, your comment was in spam, for whatever reason.

Leave a Reply

