Pinto Bean Dip

I am having a very weird day today. I tossed and turned all night last night, so I had a bit of a late start. I did some grocery shopping and errand running, cleaned the house, finally got to the gym around 1:30, and just got out of the shower. Yes, it is after 5pm. Still quite a productive day, just very out of order.

We’re doing enchiladas once again this evening. I was planning to make them later in the week, but I bought some awesome queso quesadilla at El Rey this weekend, and Greg is going to eat all of it if I don’t use it quickly. I think he’s eaten half of it already.๐Ÿ™‚

To go with our enchiladas, I whipped up a batch of bean dip.

Pinto Bean Dip

  • 1/2 medium red bell pepper, finely chopped
  • 1 serrano pepper, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 1/2 c pinto beans, mashed
  • 1/4 c water, more if needed
  • 1/4 c fresh cilantro leaves, chopped
  • 1/4 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp salt, more to taste
  • juice of 1 small lime

In a medium bowl, mash the pinto beans with a potato masher or a fork. Heat the water in a small saucepan, and add garlic, red bell pepper, and serrano pepper. Cook 1-2 minutes. Add the mashed beans and stir. Add the salt, cumin, and lime juice. If desired, add a bit more water to make a thinner dip. Stir in chopped cilantro. Serve with chips and veggies, or on tacos, tostadas, or salads.

Whoa! I just heard that the sun is setting tonight at 6:56pm! I’m going to be able to successfully photograph evening eats before I know it.๐Ÿ™‚

I hope you’re all having an excellent Monday.

 

 

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Sides. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pinto Bean Dip

  1. Emily says:

    I just drooled on my computer. Stunning.

  2. Pingback: Better a Beast |

  3. I’ve never put red bell pepper into my bean dip. Looks good. I will try it next time!

  4. Pingback: Carrot Cake Oatmeal + Beastly Vegan Nachos |

Leave a Reply

