Big News

Finally, I’m allowed to talk about the big exciting news. Greg and I are moving!

So long, Milwaukee.

(Source)

San Diego, here we come!

(Source)

Greg will be starting his PhD in Computer Music at UC-San Diego this fall, so we’ll be moving in July or August. I am so incredibly proud of him, and very excited for both of us.

So far, it looks like this move and Greg being in school will be putting my graduate school plans on hold for a couple more years. Truthfully, that’s okay with me. There are a lot of science job opportunities in San Diego, and I’m hoping that I’ll finally be able to put my Biology degree to good use. A decent income wouldn’t hurt either.πŸ™‚

I’m going to be working a lot (for me) over the next week, so I may be sort of MIA.

Enjoy your weekend!

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Big News

  1. Mrs Beans says:

    Congratulations! What a huge change in locale — I think you’ll love it! An adventure, of sorts.

  2. Lisa says:

    Congratulations to Greg!! Thank goodness for the interwebs so that we won’t be entirely without you. (This means that you are not allowed to stop blogging at any point, Hannah.πŸ™‚ )

  3. That is awesome, congrats! San Diego is beautiful!πŸ™‚

  4. Congrats. MUCH nicer weather! So good that you will have time to purge and pack before the move. Suggestion: purge as much as possible. If you don’t LOVE it, don’t take it! Sell it, give it away, donate. The less you have to move across country, the better.

    The lifestyle there will be so conducive to the way you like to eat and cook, and CA grows so much of its own produce, I’d guess you’ll have cheaper access to lots of good stuff. Maybe, and it’s a stretch, as San Diego is expensive (real estate-wise) you’ll have room for a garden? Or at least a patio/balcony where you can grow fresh herbs. That would be great for all the cooking you do.

    • alimental says:

      I agree completely! We’ve already started to get rid of books and go through our closets. We live in a pretty small apartment and don’t have much stuff anyway, but I still want to get rid of as much as possible.

      I’ve never been to California (it sort of freaks me out to be moving to a city I’ve never been to!), but I’ve heard it’s beautiful, and I’m so looking forward to the beautiful weather and year round farmers markets. Almost every place we’ve looked at so far has a balcony or a patio, so I think at the very least I’ll have a great mini herb garden.πŸ™‚

      • I’ve never been to San Diego, but have heard over and over it’s supposed to have the best weather in the U.S., so that will be a nice change from Milwaukee! And having even a mini herb garden will be super cool!

  5. Becca says:

    I’m so excited for you guys! …and proud of Greg!

  6. Grandma "B" says:

    Don’t forget to take your umbrellas, rain gear, and stay away from the neuclear plants.

    Good luck on your new adventure!!! Been there. . .Done that. . .we are so happy for the two of you. . .Way to go Greg!!!

Leave a Reply

