Most Excellent Granola

Today is shaping up to be an excellent day off. I had an excellent workout, followed by an awesome breakfast at Beans and Barley with Greg. I’m about halfway through The China Study, I received new issues of both Yoga Journal and Vegetarian Times, and I made a totally kick-ass batch of granola. Today must be my lucky day.


Now I have the rest of the day to read, get a few things done, and eat this fantastic granola, while Greg does this:

As for the granola, here’s what I did.

Most Excellent Granola

  • 2 1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup whole raw cashews
  • 1/2 cup raw pumpkin seeds
  • 1/2 cup slivered almonds
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened coconut
  • 1/2 tsp kosher flake salt
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup brown rice syrup
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter (or almond butter)
  • 1 tbsp agave nectar
  • 1/3 cup sucanat
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 1/2 tsp Mexican vanilla
  • 2 tbsp applesauce
  • 1 cup dried fruit (I used cranberries), optional

Combine the first 8 ingredients (oats through cinnamon) in a large bowl. In a separate, smaller bowl, combine the remaining ingredients (except for the dried fruit). Mix well until everything is well combined. Spread the granola out on a large baking sheet. Preheat oven to 300 degrees F, and bake for about 45 minutes, stirring every 15-20 minutes. Allow granola to cool, and then stir in 1 cup of dried fruit. I got a little carried away and put the cranberries in before I baked the granola. This will not ruin your granola, but the cranberries (or whatever dried fruit you use) will get kind of tough and sticky.

The brown rice syrup makes big, crunchy clusters.

I really did mean to eat salad for lunch…

Oh well. There’s always dinner.

Have a superb Friday, everyone.


About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Baking, Breakfast. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Most Excellent Granola

  1. Jenny says:

    How yummy, it looks so crunchy

  2. Becca says:

    I like the photo of Greg…it sums him up! 😀

  3. Grandma "B" says:

    Can I substitute Taquilla for the agave nectar ?????

  4. Grandma "B" says:

    Can I substitute Taquilla for the agave nectar????

  5. Pingback: Bits and Pieces |

Leave a Reply

