Summertime Quinoa Salad

The weather in Milwaukee is nothing close to summer-like. It may be the end of March, but our high temperatures are still hanging around in the 20’s and low 30’s.

My body, however, is ready for summer. I dread going to the gym, because all I want is a jog or a bike ride by the lake. And, even though it’s still below freezing, I’m all about iced tea, fresh fruit, and raw vegetable filled meals.

In the spirit of my strong desire for warmer days, I made up this very light and refreshing (but still very satisfying!) quinoa salad.

Summertime Quinoa Salad

  • 1 cup dry quinoa (about 3 cups cooked)
  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 medium cucumber, seeds removed, diced
  • 1 pint cherry or grape tomatoes
  • 1 1/2 cups cooked chickpeas (about 1 15oz can)
  • 1/4 cup diced shallots (or red onion)
  • juice and zest of 1 lemon
  • salt and pepper to taste

Cook the quinoa in the vegetable broth, covered over low heat, for about 20 minutes. Allow to come to room temperature (or chill in the fridge). Add the chickpeas, tomatoes, cucumber, and shallots/onion. Toss with lemon juice and lemon zest, and season with salt and pepper. Serve as is or on a bed of lettuce.

I know I say this every time, but this is ridiculously good. It also makes a pretty large amount, so I’m thinking it’s going to be an awesome picnic food.🙂

Other food of today:

A lighter than normal breakfast: a pear and an apple with cinnamon. I had some pretty severe anxiety in the middle of the night, which led me to eat a huge PB&J at 3:30 in the morning, so I wasn’t hungry when I woke up. I was just tired and really thirsty.

Veggie burger on whole wheat with spinach + veggies for lunch. I am really into snap peas right now.

We ate dinner at Mona’s (a Turkish restaurant around the corner from us) with Greg’s parents. I forgot my camera, so I snapped a few grainy photos with Greg’s phone.

I ordered Tabuli. It was really, really good, but I had SO much parsley in my teeth when I was done.

Plus some falafel. Oh man. Everything hit the spot.

Greg’s parents, Jim and Carol. Thanks for dinner, guys!

Greg with his falafel sandwich. Trying to look goofy, but looking adorable anyway.

Have a lovely evening!

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Summertime Quinoa Salad

  1. Jenny says:

    That tabule + falafel = win! Everything looks delicious🙂

Leave a Reply

