Impromptu Black Bean Salad

Ah, breakfast. Is there anything more wonderful?

Toast (half almond butter and honey, half earth balance and raspberry jam), and half a pineapple, plus an un-photographed apple.

Over the weekend, my mom gave me a TON of fruit. 4 pineapples, 3 cantaloupes, 2 pounds of strawberries, and a bag of oranges. Fruit remaining: a few oranges and one cantaloupe. Greg and I are fruit fiends. Especially me.

I was seriously lacking salad fixings for lunch, so I had to improvise. Sometimes impromptu recipes turn out to be awesome.

Impromptu Black Bean Salad


  • 1 cup unsalted black beans
  • 1 large carrot, peeled and finely chopped
  • 1 medium tomato, seeds removed and finely chopped
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, finely chopped
  • 1/4 c edamame, shelled
  • 3 tbsp salsa, more or less to taste

Mix everything up in a bowl, and throw it in the fridge for an hour for maximum flavor.

Greg and I just booked a trip to visit San Diego in early May. So excited to see my new city!

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Salads, Sides. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Impromptu Black Bean Salad

  1. Jenny says:

    Wow what a colorful bean salad! Looks delicious 🙂

Leave a Reply

