Carrot Cake Oatmeal + Beastly Vegan Nachos

I’ve been sick with a  fairly nasty cold for the last few days. Yesterday was mostly spent lounging on the couch, but I did enjoy some amazingly good food. I can hardly imagine how good it would have been without all the congestion I was experiencing.

I’ve been gorging myself on all the melon I can get my hands on. Especially watermelon. It even matches my favorite bowl.🙂

Then I had the extremely bright idea of adding vegetables to our oatmeal in the form of carrot cake oatmeal.

Carrot Cake Oats (for two)

  • 1 c. oats
  • 1 c. water
  • 1 c. almond milk
  • 2 small bananas, thinly sliced
  • 2 small-medium carrots, grated
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 tsp 2x vanilla
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp allspice
  • 1/4 tsp cloves (less of you’re not crazy about cloves)
  • 1/4 tsp ginger
  • raw pecan halves, for garnish
Place everything in a medium saucepan, except for the pecans. Bring to a low boil, and cook over low heat until the desired consistency is reached. Garnish with pecans, sweeten if desired. 
For lunch, I steamed a bunch of swiss chard (my new favorite leafy green), and added some sliced carrots, chickpeas, and lentils. 

It may not look like much, but it really was lovely.

Since we’re no longer having our weekly frozen pizza night, Greg has been craving a “fun” meal to replace it. He didn’t really go for the whole wheat pita pizzas, but I think I may have found a winner this week!

Beastly Vegan Nachos.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Spread the chips out on a baking sheet, and cover with TVP, pinto beans, pinto bean dip, salsa, olives, and about 1/3 of the cheeze sauce. Bake for 15-20 minutes. Serve with fresh lettuce and sliced tomatoes, and extra salsa and cheeze sauce.
Note: if you’re skeptical about the cheeze sauce, don’t be. It’s really good! I used a little extra salsa than the recipe called for (just to finish off a jar), and I also soaked the cashews for about an hour before using them.
Looks kind of like hummus, eh?
Greg and I both loved this meal. I think it’s an awesome pizza replacement, and I can’t wait to make that cashew cheese sauce again!

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Dinner. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Carrot Cake Oatmeal + Beastly Vegan Nachos

  1. Esteban el Papasan says:

    Nice plate for the wonderful tuna salad!
    I’ve got a couple more TJ excellent – & healthy -treat suggestions too.
    LOL (Lots of Love) Dad

Leave a Reply

