Back On Track

I have been in a FUNK lately. Something about being at such an in-between point in my life and waiting for a transition has really been getting me down. So, I’m trying to get things back on track with some extra focus on good food, exercise, and some things that I neglect way too often: stress reduction and fun.

We woke up to another dreary day in Milwaukee. Surprise, surprise! In an attempt to make my own sunshine (as my mom always tells me to do), I made a beautiful fruit salad for breakfast.

Kiwi, mango, pear, apple, blackberries, and banana.

AM snack attack.

A frozen cashew cookie Larabar. Frozen Larabars are my new favorite snack. Have you tried the new(ish) blueberry muffin flavor? It’s delish!

After snack time, my mom picked me up for a few thrift store stops before my facial appointment.

The result? 8 new dishes.

Tiny bowl + 2 tiny plates.

Dinner plate x4.

I’m not really sure what this is, but I like it.

Aren’t they pretty? As you may have guessed, I have a lot of dishes. It makes me sad that they might not all be able to come to San Diego with us.

Then it was time for my facial. My parents gave me a gift certificate for a facial back in December for my birthday. I had never had a facial before today, and I probably never would have bought one for myself. After today, I think I might be hooked! It was nothing like I thought it would be. It was so relaxing, so fun, and surprisingly uplifting. Taking some time out to do something nice for myself always motivates me to be good to myself in all areas of my life.

My mom and I grabbed some lunch at Beans and Barley. I had a garden salad plus half of a black bean and sweet potato burrito. Hits the spot every time.

(Sorry for the recycled picture)

When I returned home, I started a lovely vegetable soup for dinner.

It consisted of some vegetable schnibbles (1/2 large onion, 1/2 green bell pepper, 1/2 jalapeno pepper), 3 medium carrots, 1 small potato, 1 yellow squash, 3 tbsp dry quinoa, 1 cup frozen peas, 1 cup chickpeas, 1 1/2 cups frozen collard greens, and about 1 1/2 cups frozen green beans. That plus 8 cups of water, some herbs, and some low sodium better than bouillon, simmered for about 20 minutes. Vegetable soup is such a breeze. I love that you can toss in anything you have, and almost no matter what, the result is a delish, healthy meal.

Other stuff:

Today is my eighth day without diet soda. I’ve been replacing it with SporTea and lots and lots of water. It’s still a little tough, but I think it gets easier every day. Basically, I just keep reminding myself that it doesn’t make a whole lot of sense to spend so much time preparing healthy food if I’m just going to wash it down with poison. I’m still not ready to say that I’ll never drink another Diet Coke again, but I hope that’s where this is going.

I started a workout log to help me stay accountable and excited about exercising. So far, it’s motivating me to work a little harder, and it’s really fun to see how much I’ve accomplished.

And this, just for laughs.

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Back On Track

  1. Cassie says:

    Those dishes are gorgeous! I’m jealous of your finds!
    Congratulations on giving up soda, that stuff is so bad for you, and you’ll soon find that you don’t even miss it.

    • alimental says:

      Thanks! I was surprised by all the good stuff we found. No vintage Pyrex, though, which is what I was really after. 🙂

      The soda thing is definitely getting easier. We’re going on a short vacation next week, and I think it’ll be kind of tough to resist when we’re going out to eat more often. We’ll see how I do!

  2. Carol Surges says:

    You can do it Hannah. Believe it or not, I used to drink diet soda like water. Haven’t had any for so many years I can’t count any more. Now if only Jim could kick the habit.

    • alimental says:

      I can’t believe it! Even Greg didn’t know that. Like I said, it keeps getting easier, and the longer I go without it, the more I don’t want to mess it up. I do feel lucky to be dealing with such a minor bad habit. So glad I never picked up smoking or some other super addictive thing.

Leave a Reply

