Workin’ It

Happy May! Personally, I’m not at all sad to see April go.

Greg and I are leaving to visit San Diego this week, and I am scheduled to work ALL four days leading up to our trip. That is, Saturday through Tuesday, and we’re leaving on Wednesday.

Ah, I can’t wait.

Tentative/vague itinerary for our trip:

Wednesday: Arrive early evening, walk to hotel, check in, eat Mexican food, check out the town. We have no idea if the restaurant is any good, but they have loads of veg options, and it’ll nearly be Cinco de Mayo, so Mexican food is key. And margaritas.

Thursday: School stuff. Greg has meetings, tours, etc. I need to find something to do in La Jolla for an afternoon.

Friday: Greg has another meeting at the university, and then we’re hoping to go for a hike at Torrey Pines State Reserve. We’re also planning to wander around Balboa Park at some point, and Friday is probably the day for that as well. We’ll see what we can squeeze in.

Saturday: Apartment stuff. No idea how many we’ll see or how long it’ll take.

Sunday: Departing bright and early, returning to MKE just in time for a Mother’s Day lunch.

Last Thursday, I cooked three pots of soup (red lentil soup, Greg’s favorite chili, and split pea soup) and stuck them in the freezer so that I wouldn’t have to cook during this stretch before our trip. Wow, I am super glad I did that. I don’t absolutely love eating soup every night, but it’s awful nice to have a warm, healthy meal all ready to go. I also made a few lunch-size portions of each soup that I can pack for work in a pinch. Soup in the freezer = get out of jail free card.

Although I haven’t been cooking, I’ve been doing plenty of recipe research in my free time. Here are a few recipes that I can’t wait to try when I return from SD.

Spinach Linguini with Edamame Pesto (A very low oil pesto! Love!)

Thai Green Curry with Vegetables and Tofu (I’m dying to try a homemade curry paste)

Banana Oatmeal Chip Cookies (No explanation needed)

Other things I’m loving:

My version of a microwave meal. Recipe soon. It has 5 ingredients, involves yams, and is more delish than it looks/sounds.

Broccoli slaw from Trader Joe’s with my wonderful amazing improvised sauce. Recipe also soon.

Enjoy the remaining moments of your weekend!

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Soups, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Workin’ It

  1. Carol Surges says:

    I’m anxiously awaiting the broccoli slaw dressing recipe. Broccoli is a personal favorite so anything to make it taste better will be over the top!

    Can’t wait to hear about your San Diego experience.

Leave a Reply

