Broccoli Slaw

I had my nails done for our trip last night.

My toes are the same color🙂

We’ll be out the door in a few short hours, but I had to post one more recipe before we left!

This stuff has been making my life for the last few days.

Broccoli Slaw

(broccoli slaw, pre-sauce)

  • 1 1/2 – 2 cups broccoli slaw (you can make your own, but I buy it at Trader Joe’s)
  • 2 tsp almond butter (peanut butter would work too)
  • 1 tsp hoisin sauce
  • 1 tsp chili garlic paste
  • 1 tsp soy sauce
Combine all sauce ingredients in a small bowl, and mix well.

Pour the sauce over the broccoli slaw, and mix until the broccoli slaw is uniformly coated (this takes quite a bit of mixing).

So delish. These flavors always hit the spot for me.

Here’s what I’ve been eating other than broccoli slaw.

Yesterday’s breakfast: whole wheat cinnamon raisin english muffin with banana, honey, cinnamon, and kiwi.

Fruit snacks.

Yesterday’s lunch (best salad ever): broccoli slaw, oriental kale, 1/2 an avocado, spinach, pinto beans, a small yam, and Trader Joe’s salsa verde for dressing. I can’t stop thinking about this salad!

Here’s what we’re eating on the run today (we won’t be arriving in San Diego until nearly 8pm Milwaukee time).

Larabars, strawberries, oranges, and apples, plus some baked tofu sandwiches. I really doubt we’ll eat everything I have packed, but better safe than stuck with airport food.

Have a super Wednesday, everyone. I’ll post trip updates if I am able!

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Lunch, Salads, Snacks, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Broccoli Slaw

  1. Steve Voss says:

    Beautiful nails, beautiful broccoli slaw, beautiful new San Diego adventure!
    Enjoy every minute there. God bless you both. We love you!
    Nice day here. Sunny and s/b getting up to 63. Happy Friday!

  2. Carol Surges says:

    Thanks for the dressing recipe. I’ll be trying later today…. but perhaps with far less chili garlic paste. (I like to add chia seeds and toasted sesame seeds to this salad also.) Have you tried dressing broccoli slaw with a little toasted sesame oil added? I love that taste!

Leave a Reply

