Chickpea “Tuna” Salad

It has been 1 month since I’ve had any diet soda! Actually, I haven’t had any soda in a month, but regular soda was never my problem. I’m really excited that I’ve made it this far. I feel like I have a lot invested at this point, so I’m even more motivated not to mess it up.

To congratulate myself, I bought a few treats on my grocery outings.

Lime sparkling water + organic caffeine free raspberry peach tea.

And some dried mango.

Anyway, on to the good stuff!

Chickpea “Tuna” Salad

  • 2 cups cooked chickpeas
  • 2 tbsp Nayonaise (or other mayo)
  • 1 tsp brown mustard
  • 3 celery stalks, chopped
  • 1/4 cup diced onion (about 1/4 small onion)
  • 2 medium or 4 small pickles, diced
  • 2 tsp aleppo pepper
  • 1/8 tsp paprika
  • salt and pepper to taste
Mash the chickpeas in a large mixing bowl. Don’t go too crazy, it should still be a little chunky. Mix in the onion, celery, and pickle, followed by the Nayonaise/mayo, mustard, aleppo pepper, paprika, salt and pepper. Serve on a salad, wrap, or sandwich, or with crackers.
Note: If you plan to eat this in public, you may choose to leave out the onion.
3 more lovely things making my day:
Abundance of fresh fruit in my kitchen.
This book came in the mail today! I’ve only read the first few chapters and skimmed the recipes, but I’m really excited to try some things out. My mom is letting me borrow her dehydrator, so there’s a good chance that I’ll be posting some raw breads and crackers in the next week or two. 
I discovered the bargain produce at the Sendik’s on Downer. It was amazing! Packages of hugely discounted (and only slightly discolored) fresh basil, onions and potatoes (which, quite honestly, I could find nothing wrong with), and clementines! Unfortunately, I didn’t need any potatoes, onions, or basil, but 5 perfectly ripe clementines for $0.79 was too good to pass up. 
I’m off to start dinner and make a mug of my new tea. Tonight, we’re making Thanksgiving Meatless Loaf from fatfreevegan.com. I’m addicted to this blog! Actually, it was the first food blog that I stumbled upon several years ago. I still think it’s the best one out there. 
Have a great Monday evening, everyone!

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Goals, Groceries, Lunch, Salads. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Chickpea “Tuna” Salad

  1. le7 says:

    1. Trader Joe’s “Just Mango” slices are better than candy!

    2. Even my husband thinks the “tuna” salad looks amazing.

    3. I really miss Sendik’s on Downer.

    • alimental says:

      They really are amazing! They even stick to my teeth like my ex-beloved swedish fish.

      I hope he likes it! Greg ate a bowl of it plain for lunch, so it seems to be a winner here.

      I hardly ever go to Sendik’s on Downer because I work across the street from the Sendik’s in Whitefish Bay (they always have really good sales on produce), but the Downer location actually had really good prices on tomatoes and avocados, plus the discount produce, so I’ll probably start going there too.

  2. Ariana says:

    If you mix sparkling water with fruit juice it makes something almost like pop/soda but better and certainly better for you! Add a couple ice cubes and you have a fruit spritzer that is delicious!

  3. stephanie Voss says:

    Hey Hannah!
    This looks Amazing! Guess what I’m having for lunch?!
    I just want you to know that dad finished the China Study. I think we might be on our way to some real changes in his diet and life style. It’s just a little over a week and I can see a big difference. Thank you so much for sharing this book with him. You just might have saved his life.
    I admire and so appreciate your passion. I love you xo

Leave a Reply

