Banana Shake

My parents had a restaurant in St. Mary’s Hospital when I was a very small child. I hardly remember it, but I do remember occasionally calling my dad and asking him to bring home a banana shake. Bliss in a big styrofoam cup, I tell you.

While my love of banana shakes has remained with me throughout my life, drinking them every day is not really conducive to the healthy, active, productive life that I am interested in leading. However, many stress-induced banana shake cravings have led me to whip up an incredibly simple and very healthy alternative to the traditional version.

Healthy Vegan Banana Shake

  • 1 large frozen banana (peel and cut into thirds before freezing)
  • 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • cinnamon to taste
Combine the frozen banana and almond milk in a blender (my immersion blender worked really well!), and blend until smooth. You can use more or less almond milk to achieve your desired consistency. Sprinkle with cinnamon, and devour. This shake is delicious on its own, but it’s also delicious served over a bowl of fruit as part of a cool summer breakfast.

 

 

 

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Banana Shake

  1. le7 says:

    My new favorite thing has been blending plain yogurt with fruit and freezing it in popsicle molds. I’m sure it would be just as yummy with almond milk. I’m seriously addicted to homemade popsicles.

  2. wes says:

    i use two frozen bananas and unsweetened almond milk and nothing else.
    and its thick healthy perfection.

Leave a Reply

