Resolutions Revisited

Can you believe that 2011 is half over? I really can’t.

I think now would be a good time to review my resolutions. While I do think that I’ve stayed focused on the overall themes of my resolutions, I don’t really even remember the more specific goals that I made for myself at the beginning of the year.

Let’s see how I’m doing.

My resolutions:

Exercise every day.

  • Mix it up. Running is not the only thing out there.
  • Continue with strength training 2-3 times per week.
  • Schedule at least 2 “long” runs per week.
  • Big goal: run 3 miles in 27 minutes or under.
I’m doing pretty awesome with my exercise goals. I’m exercising 5-7 days per week, alternating between gym and outdoor exercise, spinning, running, walking, elliptical-ing, and strength training 2 times per week. I have also started to keep a workout log, which allows me to see how much I’ve accomplished and what I can improve on in the future. 

Due to my bum knee, I am no longer trying to become a faster runner. Every time I try to improve my speed, my knee gets extremely pissed off. I’ve decided that this is not the right way to push myself at this time.

Experiment in the kitchen.

  • Try a new recipe at least once a week.
  • Find delicious ways to prepare vegetables that I wouldn’t normally choose.
  • Learn new skills (pie crusts, bread with yeast, etc.).
  • Use new ingredients.
I completely forgot about this resolution! Definitely want to focus on this one in the second half of the year. 

 

Eat good food.

  • Planning ahead = better food choices. So plan ahead.
  • Check ingredients on all labels. No corn syrup or hydrogenated oils.
  • Listen to my body. Eat the foods that I know make me feel happy and energized.
  • Drink at least 100 ounces of water every day.
  • Big goal: eliminate artificial sweeteners. That means you, diet coke. I’m not sure I’m capable of kicking this, but I’m going to give it a try.
I have made some great food improvements so far this year! Food planning has been going pretty well, and I’ve been planning our evening meals a week at a time for a few months now. My meal planning system is far from perfect, but I think it’s getting better (Greg may have a different opinion on this). I’ve also been packing all of my lunches for work and keeping a food journal.

Checking food labels was not such a big deal, and I’ve stopped buying products that have any unnecessary ingredients. If the list of ingredients is so long that I get bored reading it, I really don’t think I want to eat it. 

Listening to my body has probably brought the greatest changes in my way of eating so far this year. In March, I transitioned to a plant based diet of whole, unprocessed foods (about 98% of the time). I love this way of eating, and my body feels stronger and healthier than it ever has. 

I STOPPED DRINKING DIET SODA! I has been almost 7 weeks now. Honestly, I am really proud of myself. It’s a small thing to conquer, but it’s still something I didn’t really think I’d do. 

Read.

  • Aim for 1 book per week.
  • Learn a thing or two about history and geography (the two largest gaps in my education).
This goal makes me LOL. A book a week? Maybe if it’s a graphic novel or under 100 pages… I really have some work to do on this one. I have done some reading, but not nearly that much. New goal: 15 (additional) books by the end of the year.  Still a little on the ambitious side (for me), but we’ll see.

 

Write.

  • Continue to update and improve this blog.
I’ve been on the slacking side a little, but still going. 

 

Relax.

  • Stop being so hard on myself. Believe that I’m alright as is.
  • Develop an evening routine conducive to restful sleep.
  • Meditate for 5 minutes per day. Increase if possible.
  • Yoga.
The only part of this goal that I’ve actually worked on is improving my evening routine, and that’s still not very consistent. I could count the number of times I’ve done yoga this year on two hands. I have meditated exactly zero times this year. Oh well, no progress means LOTS of room for improvement in the second part of this year!
I’m writing these goals down in my notebook that I use every day so that I don’t forget about them again. Actually, I’ve accomplished a lot more than I thought I had.
How are your resolutions going?

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Goals. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Resolutions Revisited

  1. Steve Voss says:

    is ‘elliptical-ing’ a word?
    i enjoy your blog immensely. It keeps me attuned to one of my favorite peeps. you!
    OYG!

  2. Pingback: Reading Goal Update | Writing Life

Leave a Reply

