Workout + Very Veggie Breakfasts

Recently, a friend asked me to share more about my workouts on the blog.  I am not a personal trainer, but I am MY personal trainer. I’m happy to share what what works for me, but I will not claim that I know what I’m doing (it’s all trial and error), and I offer no advice.

This morning I did an outdoor walk/jog, since it looks like we’re going to have rain for the rest of the week. Here’s what I did:

I started by walking for the duration of two songs. This is my warmup, and allows me to get down to the lake (where there are no stop lights) before I start running.

After my warmup, I alternated running for the duration of two songs (this time, that was about 8-10 minutes), and walking for the duration of one song (3-4 minutes). I repeated this until I had completed 4 running segments (about 35 minutes). The whole workout took 50 minutes.

I like this kind of workout, because as long as your playlist is on shuffle and you change your playlist now and then, it’s never the same. It also allows plenty of rest time for my bum knee.

Sweaty and janky. Mission accomplished.

I’m trying to get my veggies at every meal. Initially, adding vegetables to breakfast was kind of awkward, but I’m becoming a pro.

Brown rice toast with peanut butter + cinnamon, cherries, raspberries, and cucumber. I think cucumbers and raspberries are in love.

Things like this monstrosity, which contains almost 2 cups of raw spinach. If you add enough blackberries, it’s not even green. All I could taste was berry and banana goodness.

Today I had a more savory veggie breakfast. Chickpeas, zucchini, red bell pepper, spinach, and marinara. SO delicious, but I missed the fruit.

Do you eat vegetables for breakfast? What’s your favorite way to incorporate more veggies into your meals?

About alimental

I am a recent college grad who loves preparing and eating good, healthy food. I live in Milwaukee with my husband and our two cats.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Exercise. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Workout + Very Veggie Breakfasts

  1. le7 says:

    When I lived in Israel I totally had to get used to the fact that it’s normal to eat salad for breakfast. Tomatoes, cucumbers, even onions. For breakfast. I can’t say I do it now but it is very noble.

Leave a Reply

